1985SD Review ‘85
1986Design Competition for the redevelopment of the Shinsaibashi, Osaka
1986Display of the Year, Japan, “Emilio Ambasz” Exhibition
1988Display of the Year, Japan, “Alvar Aalto” Exhibition
1988Osaka Industrial Design Contest, L Unit System
1988SD Review‘88
1989Arflex Design Competition
1993House Award, Tokyo Society of Architects
1995Mainichi Design Prize
1996Yoshioka Prize
1996JIA Kansai Architects
1996Innovative Award, Tokyo Journal
1996Ecoplice House Competition, IAA (International Architects Academy)
1997The JIA Prize for the best young architect of the year
1998Tohoku Prize, Architectural Institute of Japan for Tazawako Station
1999ar+d, Architectural Review, UK for Paper Church
19994th International Festival for Architecture in Video by IMAGE, Italy
1999Architecture for Humanity Design Award for Paper Log House
2000The Augustus Saint-Gaudens Award from the Cooper Union, NY
2000Akademie der Kunste (Berlin Art Award), Germany
2001Nikkei New Office Award, for GC Osaka Building
2001World Architecture Awards 2001: Europe Category, Public/Cultural Category for the Japan Pavilion
2001Gengo Matsui Award for the Japan Pavilion
2001The Prize of Japan Society for Finishing Technology, for GC Osaka Building
2001Time Magazine Innovator of the Year
2002World Architecture Awards 2002: Best House in the World, Naked House
2004Grande Medaille France Academie d’Architecture
2005Thomas Jefferson Medalist in Architecture
2005Arnold W. Brunner Memorial Prize in Architecture
2005AIA New York Chapter Design Awards-Project Honors: Nomadic Museum-NY
2007MIPIM Awards 2007:Residential Developments 1st Prize, Kirinda Project, Sri Lanka
2007MIPIM Awards 2007:Special Tribute, Kirinda Project, Sri Lanka
2008Urban Land Institute Awards for Excellence: Finalist, Kirinda Project, Sri Lanka
2009Japan Project International Award, Student Jury’s Award: Chengdu Hualin Elementary School, China
2009Grand Prize of AIJ 2009: Nicolas G. Hayek Center
2010International Architecture Awards, Chicago Athenaeum of Architecture and Design, European Center Architecture Art Design; Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Clubhouse
2010International Prize for Sustainable Architecture, Gold Medal, Haesley Nine Bridges Golf Clubhouse
2011Design for Asia Awards, Grand Award / Gold Award -Paper Partition System
2011Auguste Perret Prize
2012Mainich Art Prize
2012Art Prize from Japanese Agency for Cultural Affairs
2012KALMANI Prize 2012, Mexico City
2013Elle Décor Design Award 2013, Wall Covering -Module H, Hermès Maison
2013iF Design Award -lamp Yumi, Fontana Arte
2014Good Design Award -lamp Yumi, Fontana Arte
2014The Pritzker Architecture Prize
2014Joie de Vivre Award
2014Kyoto City Artistic and Cultural Commendations, Sparkle Grand Award
2014Asia Game Changers Awards (Asia Society, NY)
2015The Asahi Prize
2015Crystal Award (World Economic Forum, Davos, Switzerland)
2015Shigemitsu Award for Global Cultural Exchange
2015Posey Leadership Award
2015LCD Awards2015 Best Emerging Culture Destination Asia /Pacific Award, Oita Prefectural Art Museum
2016JIA Grand Prix 2015, Oita Prefectural Art Museum
2016RIBA Awards for International Excellence, Oita Prefectural Art Museum
Paper Partition System [Paper Partition System for Earthquake Kumamoto, Japan]
20172017 AIA Awards – Architecture. Aspen Art Museum
Wooden Prefabricated Temporary Housing/Kumamoto Earthquake
2018JCD International Design Awards 2018 Grand Prize, Mt Fuji World Heritage Centre
2018Japan Wood Design Award 2018, Mt Fuji World Heritage Centre
20192018 Wood Design & Building Awards [Merit Award] , Shonai Hotel Suiden Terrasse
2021Prix Lignum 2021 [1st prize, Region Mitte] , Swatch Omega
2021Prix International d’Architecture Bois 2021 , Swatch Headquarters
20222022 International Architecture Award by The Chicago Athenaeum Museum for Architecture and Design , Swatch Omega
2022The American Architecture Award for 2022 , Cast Iron House